“All I know is I’m not home yet, this is not where I belong…”

I’ve been in Florida for the summer and will continue to be here for a while longer. It’s been awesome to be able to be under the same roof as my niece and nephew. To be able to spend face time with my parents and my sister. The short drives I take to drop my dad off at home so he can rest during the week have been drives that I know I will remember forever. This time is so important. I’m trying to treasure as much of it as possible. I know it’s a gift.

This morning I was thinking of the precious gift that this trip is. My Dad will finish his radiation while I’m here. He will ring that bell after his last treatment and never have another. It’s a blessing to be here for that. My niece and nephew are growing while I am here. I’m watching them reach new milestones. It’s a blessing to be here for that. I’ve been able to spend time with my Momma. It’s hard to serve her because she’s always the one serving, but on a couple of occasions I’ve been able to do small things like send her home with food I was cooking or run to the grocery store for her. That has been a blessing, too. It makes me feel useful here in this difficult time. And while this trip is so precious, so needed, such a huge gift, it’s not easy. Here’s the thing about my home in Texas: it’s where I belong. It’s where I find my real rest. It’s where my husband is. My sister and my mom both have the gift of hospitality and have made me feel so welcome. Plus everything is familiar here because this is where I grew up. But it’s not my home. We are out of our routine which has caused all 3 of the kids to go a little crazy. We sleep differently than we would at home, eat differently than we would at home. And although I will be heartbroken when we leave here and it will be the hardest goodbye I’ve ever had to say to Florida, I know there will be peace at home.

I say all of this as a reminder to my fellow Christians. I don’t want to talk about the news. I don’t want to argue about Supreme Court decisions or Church shootings. I just want to offer this one thought to you today…are you feeling uncomfortable? A little unsettled? Out of place? That’s normal. This is not your home. We are unknowingly just feeling homesick for the place we are eventually meant to be…with Jesus. We were made for no more sickness, no more pain, no more tears and it’s okay that we long for that. We’re just homesick. May those stirring feelings move us to action. May we seek intimacy with Christ more than ever before. May we love those around us and serve them like it’s our job. Loving and serving wholeheartedly is the closest we’ll get to heaven on earth. So let’s do it well.

This life is a lot like my time here in Florida: beautiful….a gift. It requires action, and it’s so important. But it’s temporary. Hang in there, friends. This is not your home.

Until the next blog…be blessed!

Leave a Reply

